The Society for Marketing Professional Services (SMPS) is a community of marketing and business development professionals working to secure profitable business relationships for their A/E/C companies. Through networking, business intelligence, and research, SMPS members gain a competitive advantage in positioning their firms successfully in the marketplace. SMPS offers members professional development, leadership opportunities, and marketing resources to advance their careers.

SMPS is the only organization dedicated to creating business opportunities in the A/E/C industry. Companies tap into a powerful national and regional network to form teams, secure business referrals and intelligence, and benchmark performance. SMPS was created in 1973 by a small group of professional services firm leaders who recognized the need to sharpen skills, pool resources, and work together to build their businesses.

Today, SMPS represents a dynamic network of 6,000+ marketing and business development professionals from architectural, engineering, planning, interior design, construction, and specialty consulting firms located throughout the United States and Canada. The Society and its chapters benefit from the support of 3,700 design and building firms, encompassing 80% of the Engineering News–Record Top 500 Design Firms and Top 400 Contractors.

SMPS’ mission is to advocate for, educate, and connect leaders in the building industry.  SMPS’ vision is for premier professional service firms to recognize SMPS as their most trusted resource for building business and achieving success.

Headshots by:

Photography by Walt small


    • Joseph Fong

    • Suria Lee

      Miyamoto International
    • Juanita Martinez, CPSM

      Immediate Past President
    • Felicity Lao

      Heery International
    • Carmen Gonzalez


    • Matthew Sullivan

      SWA Group
    • Shelley Santo, CPSM

      Frederick Fisher & Partners
    • Alisa Greene

      Special Events
      Fugro Consultants, Inc.
    • Krystle English

      KPFF Consulting Engineers
    • Rayna Feliciano

      Geocon West
    • Christine Timbre

      Pankow Builders
    • Silvia Themudo

      University Liaison
      Buro Happold
    • Luis Dominguez

      Chapter Office
      LAD Management

Annual Leonardo Awards Program

2015 marks the 32nd annual presentation of the Leonardo Awards Program. The program was established as a means to celebrate the A/E/C industry’s finest professionals. The qualities that earned Leonardo daVinci recognition as the quintessential Renaissance man are the same attributes that inspired the founding Board of Directors to coin the program in his honor. Since its inception, the program has recognized an illustrious consortium of modern-day inventors and creators.

Click here for event and registration details.

The primary awards presented during the evening are:

Industry Honor Award
To pay tribute to a client organization that has made momentous contributions to the built environment in Los Angeles and its surrounding communities.

Leonardo Award
To honor a marketing or business development professional that has clearly succeeded in being innovative in their profession, invested in education, served as a professional leader, and given back to the surrounding community.

2014 Recipients:
Leonardo Award: Shelley Santo, Co-Pilots
Industry Honor Award: Bringing Back Broadway

Past Recipients:
2013 Andrea Walden, HOK
2011 Tom Neary, Morley Builders
2009 Paula Stamp, PCL
2008 Daniel Slater, Smith-Emery Company
2007 Randall Paulson, Walker Parking
2005 Peter Devereaux, HED
2004 Calvin Abe, ahbe landscape architects
2003 Michael Enomoto, Gruen Associates
2002 Ronald Altoon, Altoon + Porter
2001 Charles Mutillo, Morley Builders
2000 Debra Barbour, ZGF Architects, LLP
1999 Michael Savage, Jerry Kovacs & Assoc.
1998 Michael Hallmark, NBBJ
1997 Lauren Melendrez, Melendrez
1996 Ann Banning-Wright, Syska Hennessy
1995 Phyllis Dubinsky, Dworsky Associates
1994 Terry Dooley, Morley Construction
1993 Dan Jacobs, Albert C. Martin & Assoc.
1992 Sharlene Silverman, Ove Arup Partners
1991 David Dretzka, Dretzka & Associates
1990 Gail Schwartz, Nadel Partnership
1989 Diane Creel, Earth Technology
1987 Carol Huntington, Parson Brinckerhoff Quade & Partners
1986 Tom Ryan, McLarand Vasquez & Partners
1985 Charlie Poll, Poll Associates
1984 Dick Lewis, Lewis & Associates
1983 Ronnie Paul, Dworsky Associates
1982 C.A. Carlson, Welton Becket
1981 Bill Feathers, Syska Hennessy

Marketing Communications Awards

The MCA is an esteemed awards program that is modeled after the SMPS National event and recognizes excellence in marketing communications by professional services firms in the design and building industry. The competition is not just about design, but also results.

Click here for event and registration details.

In 2015, the following entry categories are being considered:

  • Website
  • Corporate Identity
  • Direct Mail Campaign
  • Milestone Recognition
  • Advertising
  • Media Relations
  • Project Pursuit


Congratulations to our 2014 winners!

1st Place: Lawrence Anderson Photography
Specific Marketing Piece – Print/Electronic Marketing Piece Category

2nd Place: Lawrence Anderson Photography
Company Website – Corporate Identity & Digital Media Category

3rd Place: Lawrence Anderson Photography
Direct Mail Campaign – Corporate Identity & Digital Media Category

Best in Show: HLB Lighting Design
“We Believe in the Power of Light” – Corporate Identity & Digital Media Category

Member Recognition Program

SMPS/LA has many ways to achieve your personal and professional goals! Check out our local Chapter’s list of individuals (on right) who achieved these noteworthy accomplishments.

CPSM Overview:
Your marketing skills are vital to the lifeline of your firm. Every day you further your company’s growth by identifying new project opportunities, developing business relationships, and getting your company’s name in front of prospective clients. That’s your job as a professional services marketer. SMPS, the recognized leader in education and information for marketing professional services, offers a credential that recognizes the marketing expertise you have achieved: Certified Professional Services Marketer (CPSM).

Learn more about the CPSM program here: https://www.smps.org/Certification/

Chapter Fellows Overview:
The Fellows of SMPS represent the highest level of experience and leadership in marketing within the design and building industry. The Fellows serve as a resource at the chapter, regional, and national levels, providing insight, ideas, programs, and mentoring for the benefit of the members and the Society. In addition, these individuals teach, write, and speak on marketing issues outside of SMPS, working to advance the profession of marketing professional services throughout the architectural/engineering/construction industry.

CPSM List of Individuals

Tom Smith | Jon Jaeger | Paula Stamp | Shelley Santo | Maria Marzoeki | Tonya Dooley | Larry Casey | Brandy Little | Juanita Martinez | Teena Videriksen | Fawn Radmanich | Ulia Loschiavo | Ann Banning-Wright | Maia Hampson

Chapter Fellows List of Individuals

Tom Smith | Nancy Egan